我曾到過北角的一間輔導中心面試。身處於中心的房間裡,我覺得自己巨大得可笑,因為這是為非常年幼的孩子們而設計的。

中心的大多數學生都只是2到3歲,他們甚至還設有針對嬰兒的課程。

如果我沒記錯的話,這個中心為6個月大的學生提供課程。

我所指的是懷孕6個月的胎兒學生。

我試圖去了解更多關於產前語言課程的資訊,但是網上的資訊並不多。因此可理解為,這種產前語言課程的做法從未成為主流。

《紐約時報》(The New York Times)的文章「語言課程始於子宮」中,解釋了我們如何得知語言技能是在子宮中培養出來的。但它也鼓勵父母不要過於擔憂產前語言課程。

穆恩博士(Dr. Moon)說道:「帶給父母的基本信息是,不要太過糾結於如何讓你年幼的孩子做好語言準備。而要讓他們做那些真正自然、简单的事情就好。」

家長們願意做出巨大的犧牲來幫助他們的孩子在生活中取得成功。這在東亞競爭激烈的環境中,情況尤其如是。許多家長花錢請最好的家教,聘僱保姆確保孩子能按時參加所有的校外課程,甚至為了讓孩子上最好的學校而陷入債務問題。有些父母甚至在孩子上小學之前就為他們安排好所有事情!為了幫助孩子在競爭激烈的名牌幼兒園中取得入學名額,家長們甘願付出大量金錢。

從「關愛生命」(pro-life)的角度來看,這帶出了一個關於義德的問題。為什麼家長們在孩子們的幸福和成功的道路上花費如此多時間、精力和金錢,但與此同時,卻有如此多孩子的生命在未出生前就被扼殺呢?孩子們的生命應比他們要就讀的幼兒園排名更重要!但是當今社會並非如此運作,為什麼不呢?我們該怎樣才能改變這種狀況呢?

This post is also available in: English

I once had a job interview at a tutorial centre in North Point. I felt so ridiculously big inside the centre’s rooms, because they were designed for very small children.

Most students were 2 or 3, but there were also classes for young babies.

If I remember correctly, the centre had lessons available for students as young as 6 months.

That’s 6 months after conception.

I’ve tried to find out more about prenatal language classes, but there isn’t much information online. Understandably, the practice never became mainstream.

The New York Times article “Language Lessons Start in the Womb” explains how we know that language skills develop in the womb. But it also encourages parents not to worry about prenatal language lessons.

“The basic message to parents is don’t get too wrapped around the axle about preparing your extremely young infant for language,” Dr. Moon said. “Just do those things that are really natural and easy.”

People are willing to make very great sacrifices to help their children succeed in life. And this is especially true in the intensely competitive atmosphere of East Asia. Many parents pay for the best tutors, hire a nanny to make sure their children get to all their after-school lessons on time, and even go into debt to put their children into the best schools. Some parents do all these things before their child has even begun primary school! Parents pay huge sums of money to help their child survive the cut-throat competition that’s involved in getting into a highly-ranked kindergarten.

From the pro-life perspective, this brings up a question of justice. How can it be that so much time, effort, and money is spent on the well-being and success of young children, at the same time that so many unborn children’s lives are snuffed out before birth? Children’s lives are more important than the ranking of the kindergarten they will attend. But that’s not how society behaves. Why not? And how can we change this?